Current Fellows

1st Year Fellows

Shahnawaz Amdani, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, Lincoln Medical and Mental Health Center, New York
SAmdani@dmc.org

Stuart Covi, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, University of Michigan Health Systems, Ann Arbor, MI
SCovi@dmc.org

Dor Markush, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, Conneticut Children's Medical Center, Hartford, CT
DMarkush@dmc.org

2nd Year Fellows

Richard Urbano Garcia Soriano, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, Miami Children's Hospital, Miami, FL
Current Research Projects: Parental perception of Functional Status and Impact on the family of congenital heart surgery patients & Vasactive inotropic score (VIS) and lymphopenia as biomarkers of adverse outcomes in adolescent patients after cardiothoracic surgery
RGarciaS@dmc.org

Ahmed Kheiwa, MD

Residency: Internal Medicine-Pediatrics, Detroit Medical Center, Detroit, MI
Current Research Project: Impact of transcatheter intervention on myocardial deformation in patients with aortic coarctation & Effect of pulmonary hypertension on Bi-Ventricular function in patients with Broncho-Pulmonary Dysplasia. An Echocardiogram observation study.
akheiwa@med.wayne.edu

Raya Safa, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, SUNY Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, NY
Current Research Projects: Early repolarization patters and presentation in our population; Effect of Aortic Stiffness on Ventricular Function in Patients with Repaired Tetralogy of Fallot; & Kidney injury in adults after congenital heart disease surgery
RSafa@dmc.org

3rd Year Fellows

Apinya Bharmanee, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, Children's Hospital of Michigan, Detroit, MI
Current Research Projects: Effect of new 4.1 Fr pacing lead on atrioventricular valve and vascular integrity in the young
ABharman@dmc.org

Salaam Sallaam, MD

Residency: Pediatrics, Children's Hospital of Michigan, Detroit, MI
Current Research Projects: Does Exercise Capacity Correlate with the Bi-Ventricular Volume and Function In Patients with Repaired Tetralogy of Fallot?
SSallaam@dmc.org

Heather Sowinski, DO

Residency: Pediatrics, Children's Hospital of Michigan, Detroit, MI
Current Research Projects: Incidence of Pulmonary Hypertension in Pediatric Sickle Cell Patients
HSowinsk@dmc.org